585,722 active members*
4,186 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Fanuc O-MD Homing problems Y Axis-Power up/ False Home/Slow homing

Fanuc O-MD Homing problems Y Axis-Power up/ False Home/Slow homing

Hi,

Im having some homing issues on my Fanuc O-MD vmc, I have no problem homing the X, Z, B axis, But every morning that I power-up the machine and home the Y axis, the machine travels very slowly compared to the other axis, and stops at about 150-200mm before the limit switch, and homes *Correctly* in the wrong position, I have been able to correctly home the machine In which I turn the machine off after it found the *False* Home, press P + CANCEL during power up and send the machine again to home in Y.
    This way The machine works ok, but it is a hassle every morning.

I think it has something to do with a gridshift parameter, But I have little experience of how this works, I have tried looking for a solution in this forum and in google but I wasnt lucky..maybe someone is.
    I would be very thankfull if somebody could point me in the right direction.
    Thank you !

Re: Fanuc O-MD Homing problems Y Axis-Power up/ False Home/Slow homing

most likely your orgin swith is open (wire broken or something else)
    check diagnostic parameter 17 bit 5 (third from the left)

I agree with guhl that it seems like a switch problem as it is in creep feed before it hits the slow down dog. I think on a 0MD you will check that with an X bit and not diagnostic. If it is some thing to with soft limits (thats what Cancel P clears) you may want to just change grid shift or stored stroke by a little bit and see if this helps.

Hi,