585,705 active members*
4,319 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

4x4 FLA Pro with upgrades

Hello all,

I am a noob, and have wanted a CNC for a few years now. Some background on me, I have no experience with CNC's, or much CAD, and no CAM. I took two years of mechanical and architectural engineering and one year in college before changing majors to a computer programming degree. For the last 5 1/2 years I have been working for a very large well known company as a Sr. Programmer/Analyst. I write mostly C++ and C but have experience in most languages. I am currently living with and engaged to my beautiful, and very patient fiance, my soon to be step daughter, and our 1 year old daughter. I have multiple hobbies which include, writing software, computers, woodworking, electronics, robotics, and guitar. I joined this board a few months ago and started researching different DIY machines, and researching everything I could research on CNC's. This board is definitely the best fire hose treatment of knowledge for CNC, CAD/CAM, etc... I like all the major designs with the extrusions and R&P. My choices were down to CNCRP's 4x2 or 4x4 standard kit, FLA's new 4x4, or Kronos' KRMx02. All very well designed machine, but what it came down to was cost mostly. After numerous emails between CNCRP and FLA I decided to give Nate a benefit of the doubt. I have read some mixed reviews with customer service, but looking at his designs I was sure it will fit my needs. I have received all of my kit except a couple parts for the upgraded 3060 gantry and the electronics. I knew going into this that FLA is known for not being the fastest at email responses, but I can tell he is working on being better, and I am a patient dude. I want to thank Ahren @ CNCRP's also for my numerous emails back and forth between choices, he was very helpful.