585,729 active members*
4,862 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Hello, I need suggestion on getting 4 axis CNC as well as software to do few things.

Hello, I need suggestion on getting 4 axis CNC as well as software to do few things.

I need to do some proto and possibly small production run on cnc for small copper round bar stock (1.5" diameter), copper barstock (nothing bigger than 2" depth and about 2" wide... possibly smaller) and on plastic pieces (pvc, hdpe about 4"x4"x4")
    Smilar design for first one is in attachment. I am wondering what kind of machine should I get, what kind of software to get to get the design done in proper way and feed it for quick prototyping.
    I am very new to this whole thing, I am looking to do this more out of need (and some fun I guess). One thing I don't have is spending too much time to make my own, but I am willing to spend the time to learn how to operate it. (Basically I have really bad experiences with prototype being made by some shops around me, too much delay, wrong job done, too costly for multiple variation of prototype run, etc)
    I presume minimum size for time being on the groove of such design to be 1.5mm - 2mm wide and 7-8mm deep.
    What would your recommendation be? And thank you in advance...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_8728.JPG   IMG_8759.JPG  

How much are you willing to spend?
    Check ebay for Taig mills, they often come 4 axis and CNC ready. That would do the job for your application

Right now, my budget is tops 6k in total. (my estimated cost of running to local cnc shop for rest of year for prototyping, wasted time waiting for each iteration, etc) I know it isn't much of budget for CNC really but that's where it is.
    I looked at onecnc and it looks very attractive. I am not sure how pricing of package that will suit me turn out to be.