585,888 active members*
3,972 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNC Programmer expectations

Hello, I hope some of you can shed some light on an issue I am having with my employer. I am a Journeyman machinist (20yrs experience) who is also nearly finished with my bachelors in Manufacturing Engineering. I have spent my whole career in small to mid size job shops and short run production servicing primarily the aerospace and medical industries. My area of expertise is mainly in programming multi axis mill-turn machines and 4 and 5 axis milling machines. I also occasionally write code for cnc grinders. Over the years I have used multiple software packages with my main focus on NX/Unigraphics for both solid model creation (parts and fixture design) and generating G code for the machines. The company I work for has been bought out by a larger corporation who has increased our manufacturing capacity greatly over the last year(nearly double) as well as nearly doubling our sales. Currently I am under scrutiny regarding my abilities. I am the sole programmer for a shop of 62 machines running nearly two full shifts. 3/4 of the machines are twin spindle twin turret mill-turns with Y axis (9 axis) we also have 4 5 axis milling centers. I average about 15 to 20 new part numbers per month of new programs. We specialize in tough to machine "super alloys" (inconel, cobalt, titanium etc) with tight tolerance features. I have also created post processors for our CAM system for all of our different machine types. To give you an idea of our size we ship roughly $1 mil in product per month give or take. At this point due to my ever increasing workload I just sit in the office and write code, I rarely get to go out to the shop floor and "prove out" programs, there just isnt time. The scrutiny I am under stems from the fact that my programs often need "tweaking" or edits due to unexpected tool performance, finish issues, speed and feed issues, or just tools that dont work out how