585,717 active members*
3,916 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > CNC milling spindle with belt-drive - construction

CNC milling spindle with belt-drive - construction

I am a total newbie to milling equipment but have been using woodworking and electronics for a while. Building a CNC machine that will be used both for milling and woodworking. I already have a high quality brushless motors and below is the design I came up with. The major problem is figuring out how to connect ER20 chuck to the ball-bearing spindle (rod) that will be driven by the motor. These chucks mostly come with a tapered collets that I cannot connect to easily. Is there a type of collet that would be feasible for my application? Is there a collet that already has ball-bearings and is ready for the belt-driven application below or would you recommend a totally different approach?

I know I can get a solution (contraption) that will help accomplish this for several hindered dollars but I was looking at a more cost-effective solution. It is just very difficult to find non-tapered collets and their detailed descriptions and hope you can advice a practical solution. thanks.

Attachment 239340

Re: CNC milling spindle with belt-drive - construction

I found a straight collet chuck holder on Amazon with 20mm collet. the new idea is to get ball bearing (got these) with ID 20mm and put it directly on the collet. So, the collet will replace the spindle on the picture in the original post. Is this feasible? Any recommendations or warnings for the ball bearings? Any other recommendations on mounting? Thanks

I CAN SUPPLY BEARINGS FOR YOU , WITH LOW PRICE , HIGH PRECISION. WE ARE MAINLY PRODUCE BEARINGS USE FOR MACHINE TOOLS AND CNC. MY CONTACT INFORMATION AS :
    Wafangdian Tianjiu Bearings Technology Co.,Ltd.
    (Wafangdian Heavy Bearings Researching & Manufacturing Co.,Ltd.)
    Brand:WZFB