584,363 active members*
7,055 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > CNC Wood Router Project Log > New steel mill/router design. Feedback appreciated.

New steel mill/router design. Feedback appreciated.

Hi Everybody, I've been on this thread a few times, this might actually be my first post, I can't really remember. Anyway, I've been working on a CNC mill/router design over the last year or so, and I've really pulled the design up over the last few months. This is my first build, so be kind.

The design started off as an aluminium T-Slot build, but I was convinced to build it from steel, which in the end looks like it will save me about $400, and still have the same cut space.

Basically I want to build a machine that is capable of cutting aluminium, but will mainly be used to cut through woods/plastics/fibers etc. I need to be able to build this machine with the tools i already have (welder, grinder, drill press tap/die screw drivers etc), so a very efficient design is required. I have found a guy that can help with plasma cutting the plates and some small milling of the parts that need to be straight, at a cost of course.

My cutting space is X: 720mm, Y: 950mm, Z: 200mm
    The main drive and guides im using are:
    Y Rails: Hiwin HGR20, with HGW20 carriages
    Y Drive: 1610 leadscrew, with SFU1610 ballscrew
    X Rails: Hiwin HGR15, with HGH15 carriages
    X Drive: 1610 leadscrew, with SFU1610 ballscrew
    Z Axis: THK33, what ever I can find on EBay really.
    1.5kW water cooled spindle with VFD
    All steppers (4 off) are 387oz-in, driven by a gecko G540.
    PSU 48V 10A
    A full list of materials can be found here.
    You can see on this list which parts I've already purchased, like the motors, G540 etc..
    My aim is to keep my entire build under 3K. I've already spent about $600, and I've got about $2100 remaining, so the budget looks good so far.