584,800 active members*
4,451 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > OneCNC > What should I charge???

What should I charge???

I have recently started writing programs for a company. I have no idea what a fair rate should be. Usually when they call it is a drop everything gotta have it emergency. What I have been doing is I write the program then travel to their shop, work out any bugs and work with the operator adjusting feeds and speeds etc. I then stay until the part passes inspection.

I am no expert at programing but they seem to be satisfied. This is an established small company that has been doing defense work for at least 20 years.

I enjoy doing this type of work. I don't want to scare them away but I don't want to work for peanuts either. Any figures you could give me would be greatly apreciated.
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Gncc50
    I have recently started writing programs for a company. I have no idea what a fair rate should be. Usually when they call it is a drop everything gotta have it emergency. What I have been doing is I write the program then travel to their shop, work out any bugs and work with the operator adjusting feeds and speeds etc. I then stay until the part passes inspection.

I am no expert at programing but they seem to be satisfied. This is an established small company that has been doing defense work for at least 20 years.

I enjoy doing this type of work. I don't want to scare them away but I don't want to work for peanuts either. Any figures you could give me would be greatly apreciated.
    Thanks