585,729 active members*
4,775 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > How to determin the operating paramaters on an unknown servo motor.

How to determin the operating paramaters on an unknown servo motor.

Hi Guys, I am relatively new to CNC and am building some CNC stuff. I acquired a beautiful servo motor many years ago. It came from HP mainframe equiptment (There is an HP label (0725-69012 handwritten on silver tag) but I haven't been able to find any trace of it on the net). From my limited knowledge of servos it is brushless. It has a built in encoder. It weighs at least 15 lbs. I would love to use it. I would put on a new encoder -I guess- on it. I hooked it up to 24 volts - spun beautifully. How would I go about determining its optimum operating voltage?

Thanks for any help on this.

Kent

Quote Originally Posted by circlecn
    It weighs at least 15 lbs. I would love to use it. I would put on a new encoder -I guess- on it. I hooked it up to 24 volts - spun beautifully. How would I go about determining its optimum operating voltage?
    Kent
    If you hooked up 24vdc I doubt if it would spin if it was brushless, unless you have a BLDC driver amp. If it was straight DC then it was most certainly brushed, two ways of determining voltage required is to estimate the maxium rpm, for a brushed motor, it rarely goes over 3000 unless a specialty.
    so you can either apply a voltage and measure the rpm, it will be directly related to speed, so if 24vdc gives you 1000 rpm then it is roughly a 75vdc motor.
    Or you can spin it a known rpm and measure the generated DC, and do the same math.
    If you need any other specs, I think I have a previous post on finding them emirically.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Thanks

Hi,