584,858 active members*
4,688 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Servo Motor question

This may be a silly question but I am new to this. How come nobody is using servo motors on these X3 conversions? I thought a closed loop system was surperior to stepper motor systems.

Jason

Cost.... usually.

Servo's cost more, and the controllers for them.

Alot of people are of the opinion that with the new stronger steppers. You don't miss steps and don't need to worry as much about the servos.

I have servos for my x2, but they are in a box somewhere, waiting for my garage to be unpacked.

One thing I don't understand about servos is how they keep a position. Do they just do a balancing act or what?

There is an encoder on the end of the shaft.

It's a two part device. One part consists of a disc with ultra small index marks. Then other is the encoder which reads where those marks are and if they have moved.

If it detects a move that wasn't expected the driving software will readjust the servo back to where it's suspose to be.

The thing I don't get is wouldn't this lead to inaccuracies? Or is the encoder that sensitive to where that movement wouldn't matter?

I'll let you know when I get mine going.

*grins*

However I believe that you set the amount of backlash with in your system. Then it takes that into account.

With say a 1000 line quadrature encoder the quadrature edge pulses are often detected to increase the resolution x4 so now you have 4000 counts/turn. say with gearing or ball screw, 1 inch represents 4 turns of the encoder, this will then result in a resolution of 16000 counts/inch = 0.0000625/count.
    If the position error is 1 or 2 pulses, then you can see the kind of error or accuracy you would have.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.