585,712 active members*
4,310 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > G0704 conversion - feeds and speeds questions for 0704 users

G0704 conversion - feeds and speeds questions for 0704 users

Hi all,

I've converted a G0704 clone (AMA25LV) to CNC using some 4nm steppers, chinese ballscrews, homemade bearing supports and nut adapters and a BOB/linuxcnc. It's all working pretty well - I managed to get it down to 30 microns backlash in all axes except the Z which sees 70 microns. This has been pretty adequately removed in soft compensation and I can see 50 micron repeatability over 100mm moves and zero backlash registered on a 0.01mm resolution DTI. Chuffed! I then found Hoss's pages and wondered whether I should have gone that route - ah well!

That said, I'm pretty new to the CNC process and I'm doing a lot of learning off-line - my first few forays into using it in anger have been OK but recommended feeds and speeds have needed some significant tweaking. Due to the lower spindle speed limit (2Krpm), small diameter cutters fed into a few online F&S calculators yield a very very high feed rate (like metres a minute at times for aluminium!).