584,842 active members*
4,164 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    Hey All
    I have a machine that has 2 drive motors on the Y axis and I am running Mach 3. I was wondering if any one out there has a script (that works) that can both home and square up this axis. I have home switches on both sides just cant find a script to utilize them. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    If one motor is slaved to the other, Mach3 will automatically square them when homing.
    Make sure that in General Config, "Home Slave with Master" is NOT checked.
    If it doesn't appear to be working, you may need to modify the homing script to use RefCombination for the slaved axis. There's info on modifying the homing scripts in the back of my 2010 Screenset manual. http://home.comcast.net/~cncwoodwork...0%20Manual.pdf
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    Thank you Gerry for your reply ..... I have the two motors slaved in homing now which will drive both motors at the same time to a single switch.... The problem with that is if one drive is off for some reason the homing will not square the bridge ... i was hoping someone had a script that would home it a slave ... then back off and drive each side to its own switch to square the bridge.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    I don't believe there's any way to do that in a script. You'd need to toggle the "Home Slave with Master" setting, and scripts don't have access to it.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    I have found a way ..... dual drive home.

    Y and B motors are used for dual homing. If the motors are not slaved in software then they are slaved in hardware. You will need to rewire the drivers so one is contorlled with Y (step and direction) and the other is controlled with B.

    A home switch for B must be added as well.

    The homing can be done with a RefCombination() and if you wanted to do the Y and B it would be done like this

    X=1
    Y=2
    Z=4
    A=8
    B=16
    C=32

    Y+B = 2+16 = 18
    RefCombination(18)


    Add to VB script with "edit button script"
    -------------------
    BEFORE-
    DoButton( 24 )
    DoButton( 23 )
    DoButton( 22 )
    DoButton( 25 )

    DoOEMButton(133)
    DoOEMButton(134)
    DoOEMButton(135)

    ------------------------------------

    AFTER-
    DoButton( 24 )'RefZ
    RefCombination(18)'Home Y and B axes
    DoButton( 22 )'Ref X
    DoButton( 25 ) 'Ref A

    DoOEMButton(133)
    DoOEMButton(134)
    DoOEMButton(135)

    __________________________
    Take a look and let me know what you think./ Thanks to Phil at PDJ INC for the program.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    Sorry, I could have given you that before, but I misunderstood what you were asking for.
    You can remove the DoOEMButton 133-135 portion, as they just zero encoders, which you most likely are not using.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    Thank Gerry

  8. #8

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    I know this thread is mega old.. but i have a problem using dual x axis.. i have a chinese ZK motion board, and had a dula homing option in its own settings... this how ever doesnt seam to work... and after altering the 2010 homing macros i still cannot get dual homing (squaring) to work...i have 2 motors X+C and 2 homing switches X + C
    general config is set (unchecked) not to home Slave with Master Axis
    i have 4 options on my controller plugin
    1 No Homing (non of the homing buttons seam to be active)
    2 Single Return no pull off (each press seams to jog 1mm toward the home switch)
    3 Single Return pull off (each press seams to jog 1mm toward the home switch)
    Dual Return home (X + slave home together (at the same time as on eaxis)

    i have edited the homing macro (currently m888 For testing) to use RefCombination(33)
    but this still only homes it together not independetly (non squaring)

    i have tried slaving the A Axis instead and that made no change,

    my conclusion is that the Controller is overiding the macros or doesnt run them as intended, but then the controllers own Dual homing doesnt seam to work either

    any suggestions?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    any suggestions?
    1) Try to find a newer plugin for your controller.
    2) Try a different version of Mach3. Many plugins work differently with different versions of Mach3. A lot of Chines controllers use plugins that work best with older versions of Mach3.
    3) Buy a non Chinese controller that actually works.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  10. #10

    Re: Dual Drive Homing and Squaring Script.

    thanks for the suggestions... i have actually just managed to find firmware update for the controller so i can try that tomorrow, i actually live in china now so its pretty difficult to buy Non chinese controllers, im very happy with the controller its self and it not a cheap $10 board, i was just hoping that maybe i made a rookie mistake with the homing macro (Screen 3.jpg) or overlooked something simple.. but if the maco looks ok to you then i must have to figure another way around the problem

Similar Threads

  1. More dual axis homing issues
    By eforer in forum SmoothStepper Motion Control
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-28-2013, 05:19 AM
  2. g-code homing script
    By lunchtrayrider in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 04:04 AM
  3. Z homing script?
    By antonzedd in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 04:16 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2008, 12:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •