512,472 active members
3,067 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Metalworking Machines > Syil Products > Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    14

    Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    My X5 is always miss setting the Z Axis Home position (Reff All) - it can find any number of different positions. Does anyone know where the switch is located...the tech drawings never mention it. I'm thinking it may be loose?
    (using Mach3)

    Thanks in advance.

    Greg.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3747

    Re: Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    Try setting debounce to a bigger figure. Probably noise on switch lead.
    My SX3 does that, but I know it is dirt and stuff on optical interrupter, so I just give it a blast of air if it does not get to the taped mark.
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    14

    Smile Re: Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    Hi Neilw20, I will try it out > current setting was 4, new setting 100. I'd still like to know where I can access the switch - it's not visible from the front of the machine.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3747

    Re: Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    4 would be next to useless, bump it up to say 125 ~~ that's 10mS. You might have dust in optos, like me.
    Where in Aus are you? I am in Melbourne.
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    14

    Re: Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    If any one knows where the X5 Z limit switch is physically located I would still like to know.

    Hi Neilw20, I’m in Sydney, Kings Langley.

    I’m a watchmaker, hand making a watch with the view to starting a company. The Syil X5 seemed ‘fit for purpose’ as a CNC solution because I am making very small parts. I work full time so the project is taking forever.
    I use Mach3 with the Smoothstepper interface; software crashes seem to be a real plague with this setup.
    Originally I tried to get the X5 with servo's but the dealer here said that Syil would not supply them....I think the extra cost would have been worth while. I built a 5th Axis (which stretched the capability of the X5) but the results are disappointing mostly due to my poor design specs.

    Any way...

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    14

    Re: Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    I've just tried the debounce setting (125) and there is no change.

    Just to provide more of an explanation; if I move the Y Axis away from Home then Ref All, it will move the table until it finds the Y Axis limit switch. If I do the same for the Z Axis it will decide that Home is within about 10mm from its current location, it will not move the head until it finds the Z Axis limit switch.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3747

    Re: Syil X5 Z axis limit switch location

    Is that a ethernet smoothstepper or USB?
    Some versions of Mach3 don't work well with Smoothstepper.
    SS recommend ...050 Mach3. Is it running out of data? PC might be a problem. Laptop. Almost certainly a problem.
    Why...
    Read all of this to instill confidence in my comments!!
    Time
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting Home Location, Table Travel, and Home Switch Location in Stepconf
    By northbear in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2013, 05:07 AM
  2. 1996 Sabre 1250 - Y axis TPA switch location
    By jaredsparks in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2012, 03:53 AM
  3. Syil sx3 Z axis opticl switch wiring
    By Mr Miller in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-20-2012, 01:39 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 12:46 PM
  5. syil xp5 trigger limit switch
    By Vik in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 07:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •