584,863 active members*
4,866 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > General Off Topic Discussions > Aspiring newish machinist wants to build CNC Milling Center, advice much appreciated.

Aspiring newish machinist wants to build CNC Milling Center, advice much appreciated.

I do machine design, have designed lots of complex billet parts, understand the process, regularly looking up available mill sizes etc.

I'm looking to build a CNC milling center capable of working from CAD models. I have the basic idea, I have solidworks, can output models, I'll need I think CAM software, driver hardware, driver software maybe, and a milling machine with stepper motors and controller.

I'm pretty new to this project, so lots to learn, but want to learn it then buy fairly quickly, so why I'm posting this, any advice much appreciated.

I think of this sort of like my home build CAD workstation I built a few years back. I knew enough to know I'd get far more bang for the buck to build my own rather than buy a Dell or HP, and I did to great success, with the help of PC overclockers forums and lots of homework. I'm hoping to do the same with this build.

My first goal is to build a four axis machine, x, y, z, and x rotation, which is capable of using software to convert from complex cad model to the machine. I'm thinking mostly aluminum, but If not too much more expensive I'd like to be able to do steels also. I definitely want 110V setup for in a spare room in my house, I'll build an enclosure too. I also want it not too small, but small enough that I can build and install myself. Thinking of it, I do have an engine hoist in case of needing to lift too heavy, so keep that in mind.