585,762 active members*
4,355 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New Mini Desktop CNC Router Design

Hi All,

This is my first post and I'm designing a new mini desktop CNC router that I thought I'd share with you guys.

My background is about 10 years as a CNC machinist and metal fabricator. I have used equipment such as a HAAS VF2 mill, Daewoo Lynx L200 lathe, Mazak Laser, Flow Waterjet, and Strippet Turret Punch. I have always been an electronics enthusiast and for the last 6 years I have been a 3D CAD designer. In my home shop I have a 40 watt laser engraver/cutter, 3D Printer, vinyl cutter, and other various tools.

My goal is to create a small, open source, desktop CNC router for everyone interested to enjoy. I am close to having a working prototype and wanted to share my design progress thus far.

The design will use an Arduino controller loaded with the GRBL firmware for motion control.

Here are a few picture of the progress I have made so far.

Thanks for viewing,
    Scott

Attachment 249572
    Attachment 249574
    Attachment 249576

Re: New Mini Desktop CNC Router Design

I like the last picture Most -
    Looks like an i3 Design to me but . .
    I have an proxxon mf70 70 cnc on an twisted marlin System is able to do pcb-gcode Milling maybe an Inspiration for you ...
    Chance of using LCD cards and so on ..

Thanks Tkamsker, the design is inspired by a lot of different machines

I hooked up the Y Axis to a circuit I made a while ago for manually jogging a stepper motor. Here's a video of it in action:

I noticed you have some experience with sheet metal oriented equipment. I have wondered about the feasibility of doing one of these low cost and light machines with sheet metal. That is cut, fold up and weld the basic structure of the machine. I have little knowledge though when it comes to modern sheet metal work. Maybe that isn't possible due to distortion and final assembly accuracy.

Wizard,