585,763 active members*
4,098 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > To mach3 or not mach3, opinions requested

To mach3 or not mach3, opinions requested

Hey all,

I'm Ken Cameron from Austin Texas. I am a former CNC machinist (mostly early 90's Haas mills), currently a metal fabricator and business owner. Most of what we make is used in our business, as such we are our own customer. This gives us a lot of flexibility when making machine tool purchases. I recently purchased a ~1980 KMB1-M from Brian Greul in Houston Texas. Thank you Brian for all your help getting the machine loaded on my trailer.

I am a complete newb with the the the BX controls that this machine seems to have.

The machine was in pretty rough shape when we got it home. The monitor went out. I was able to hook up an old Sony Triniton TV up to the video out signal to get a functioning screen with out having to buy and OEM replacement for something like $790. We have already replaced the spindle control snubber board for 279$ and fixed a bunch of damaged wires what were burned up when one of the snubbers got extra hot and crispy. Currently, the y and z axis jog just fine, and the spindle turns on and off, and I can move around through the control system. At this point, I seem to be having trouble with the X-axis, getting a motion error when I try to jog the machine in that axis. I'll be working with Shane at Martin CNC to diagnose that one as soon as my new multimeter arrives.