584,850 active members*
4,428 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Cincinnati CNC > Retrofit cincinatti arrow 500

Retrofit cincinatti arrow 500

Hey guys, got a arrow 500, I brought 2 years ago, wasn't running then, and the machine had been sitting for 8 years prior to that, the machine is in mint condition, hardly been used. Anyway I fired it up today and and it said battery memory failure, the screen displayed press any key to continue, so I did that and nothing happened, I removed the batteries, and they had leaked everywhere.

I've been using my little tormach for many years and like the mach3 system, ease of tool setting, digitising etc etc, plus I know it of the back of my hand,

can I retrofit the arrow 500 to run mach3, I was reading through the mach3 config, and got to details about the servo's, as far as I'm aware the arrow 500 has ac servos they're dutymax ms servos 115msa040200ag

What's your opinion guys, I want the tool changer to work, can it be done

Re: Retrofit cincinatti arrow 500

From the info I have, the MACH3 software and hardware do not support much I/O that is required with a complex CNC machine and tool changer. It sounds like you have a CT control. You can change the batteries and re-load the software to get it running.

Mike cncmachineservices (dot) com

"From the info I have, the MACH3 software and hardware do not support much I/O that is required with a complex CNC machine and tool changer."

Not true, there are lots of hardware options which would make Mach3 I/O options virtually limitless, definitiely within and beyond the realm of any VMC and toolchanger. For one, Modbus can be used with Mach3 and supporting hardware. Brains and visual basic scripts also supporting within the Mach software end of the equation.