585,712 active members*
3,957 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > First time connecting Fanuc 18i to PC

First time connecting Fanuc 18i to PC

Hello everyone!

Since this is my first post on this forum please be gentle. I am a proud operaor of a Quaser MV154p mill with Fanuc 18i op sys. Been doing this for 8 years now and finally got hold of Mastercam x5 software. I have read almost every post about connecting the two together but i thought that a new thread with explanations and step-by-step instructions should be done. Since i am a newbie in this situation i got a lotof questions so here i go

1. Will a USB to RS232 with adaptor work? For example in my country there are available the next things:

Oomipood - Otsing - US232R
    SKYCABLE Ãœleminek DB9F - DB25M valatud

Seen them work on a Bridgeport

2. Assuming the cable composition works, what kindof parameter settings do i have to make in the Quaser? An instruction would be nice

3. Running a win 7 on my computer, will the computer recognize the cable/quaser in the USB? If not, what should be done? heard about changing the settings of the USB to a COM port. Also instructions would be nice

4. If these connections done, what is the next step? How do i know the two are communicating?

5. Suppose they are communicating. I open Mastercam, Are there any settings to be done or will the program recognize Quaser? Read about something about a post processor but can i get it for my machine? Also a total mystery land for me

For now i think this is about it. Can't connect anything unitl monday but i woulld like to be prepared because i do not have access to internet at work. I really like to take my CNC skillsto a higher level so any help is welcome

Cheers!

Re: First time connecting Fanuc 18i to PC