Hello everyone,

Me and my friend need to do a lot of precision textile (fabric) cutting for one proof of concept project, and I decided to build a CNC laser cutter to help us out with that. If that other project goes well, the machine will remain part of it.

I have no previous experience with CNC machines or lasers, however I do understand how their work and I have some experience building stuff, working with dangerous electricity, etc.

The requirements for this cutting machine are very simple and somehow abstract:

• Need to keep as cheap as possible, with possibility to upgrade later to a more sophisticated/powerful machine if it turns out to be useful. And to be "sell-able", if it doesn't.
  • Needs to be able to cut textile (typical denim fabric being the thickest one) and keep as little browning of the edges as possible.
  • Need to be able to cut acrylic glass and be precise and fast enough to work as an engraver.
  • Minimum required precision for cutting textile is 0,5mm, but I am not sure how precise it needs to be for engraving.
  • Cutting speed is also an open question. I have seen specs of a similar commercial machine state max cutting speed 40cm/s which seems OK for me. Engraving, I suppose, need to be faster.
  • Working surface size should be about 2x3 meters.
  • The whole machine must be dismantleable to flat pieces for easier transportation.

At this moment, here are my considerations (which may be false):

• Start with 60W non-branded CO2 laser tube, but design everything to be able to upgrade to 80-100W RECI tube.
  • The laser tube will be fixed on the moving gantry to shorten the maximum travel distance of laser beam and keep its effective power more consistent between the closest and the farthest point on the table (from tube's end). Also that should ease up the adjustment of mirrors, since tube will be much closer to the cutting head.