502,152 active members
5,744 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    158

    Whats your strategy for multiple fixtures?

    Whats your strategy for multiple fixtures? For example you mill the top of a part, then refixture to do the bottom, and then another for the side. I see its common in the tutorials to see the part in a vise, or on a fixture plate. They really only show the machining of the top of the part, but what about the bottom?

    Do you make an alternate position for the assembly? I tried this and it messes up the original tool paths, I have to remember to go to the original position if I want to generate and post process. Whats your strategy? Make a new assembly of the part in alternate position?

    I'm using Inventor HSM (HSMWorks) in Inventor 2015 if that makes a difference.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    79

    Re: Whats your strategy for multiple fixtures?

    In InventorHSM we don’t move the model we setup the WCA to your part. So to do a second setup you simply create a new Setup folder set the WCS for the new set up and start cutting. I’ll work on a sample part to show a couple of ways of how it works.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1458

    Re: Whats your strategy for multiple fixtures?

    (sorry for the late reply) Here is a good video demonstrating setting up the coordinate system as CamMan described (this is HSMWorks with SW):

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RK0A...B&spfreload=10

    If that is not clear, than back up to video #1 or #2 in the series, and watch the multiple setups to machine 3 parts of the part.
    Tim
    Tormach 1100-3, Grizzly G0709 lathe, Clausing 8520 mill, SolidWorks, HSMWorks.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    6

    Whats your strategy for multiple fixtures

    paylaþým için çok teþekkürler programý kurdum fakat internete girdiðimde linans deaktif oluyor. Sorunu çözmenin bir yolu var mýdýr acaba?

    Missing toolbar in Explorer | IT Queries: Computer problems answered

Similar Threads

  1. Kitamura mycenter 2B - multiple fixtures?
    By davesnd in forum Kitamura
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2014, 01:03 AM
  2. Same Part Multiple fixtures?
    By pp-TG in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 06-15-2013, 05:28 AM
  3. MasterCam X Multiple Fixtures
    By MachiningPartne in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-24-2011, 06:04 PM
  4. servo setup whats need and whats do i need to know
    By jhtmfg in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 12:29 AM
  5. Multiple tools on lathe, strategy?
    By RogerN in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 08:10 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •