502,723 active members
4,258 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    20

    Question LinuxCNC w/ Probotix Setup

    Hi yall,

    Does anyone know the proper setting in Stepconf for Probotix's stepper motors? The motors kind of hum/vibrate when being tested but don't actually move. Any help appreciated for this FNG! Thanks!

    My gear:

    ProboStep VX Uni-Polar Stepper Motor Driver
    (2x) HT23-280-8 280ozin Stepper Motor
    HT23-400-8 400ozin Stepper Motor
    PBX-2 Parallel Port Breakout Board

  2. #2
    Community Moderator svenakela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1652

    Re: LinuxCNC w/ Probotix Setup

    Have you checked with Probotix? They've got some examples on their wiki. LinuxCNC Configuration - PROBOTIX :: wiki
    Otherwise, join the Lcnc mailing list and ask.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    20

    Re: LinuxCNC w/ Probotix Setup

    Svenakela, I have tried the setting for the V90 on this wiki page. This was the setting Probotix has told me to try but I didn't have any luck. I'm starting to think it's something with my parallel port. I'm not sure how to check that this is working properly though, I'll have to find more information about checking it. Thanks for the response.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator svenakela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1652

    Re: LinuxCNC w/ Probotix Setup

    Get another parallel board, they are cheap.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    20

    Re: LinuxCNC w/ Probotix Setup

    Ok, problem resolved. Turned out to be the settings on my parallel port were wrong. Motors are responding now. I have some bogus information in there for the threads because I haven't bought the ballscrews yet so that will need to be adjusted but the axis are jogging now in Linux. Thanks for the help svenakela.

Similar Threads

  1. Help Please - Driver Setup - LinuxCNC
    By CNC pupil in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-08-2014, 12:37 AM
  2. Nothing moves in LinuxCNC, but in setup it works!?
    By airtruk in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2013, 09:37 AM
  3. Setting up pwm signal for Spindle in Mach3 - copying setup from emc/linuxcnc.
    By craynerd in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2012, 08:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •