584,837 active members*
5,307 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Servo Drive Selection Dugong vs. Gecko drive

Servo Drive Selection Dugong vs. Gecko drive

I am new to servo technology. I have built a couple of stepper based CNC mills a few years back. I just picked up an Industrial Hobbies/Charter Oak Mill and am interested in converting it to CNC control. I would like to use Servos on this build but I don't know much about them at this point. I was wondering if someone could recommend a servo drive. I am currently trying to decide between the Gecko G320 and Dugong drives. I am also considering a smart motor called the stepper killer, it is from a company called Teknic, It is supposed to be a servo with integrated drive. If anybody has any helpful opinions regarding any of these setups that will aid in my decision it would be greatly appreciated.

Rod

Re: Servo Drive Selection Dugong vs. Gecko drive

Anybody??

native34

Dmm are what you should be looking at, for a new build

DMM | Multi-Axis Solutions
    Mactec54

I already have breakout board, vfd and other accessories picked out. I have it narrowed down to the dugong and gecko drives but wanted help in deciding with one has the least learning curve. I have heard that the gecko drives can be a real pain to get working properly.

native34

Steppers would almost be as good as what you are looking at, there is no learning curve with the Dmm system
    Mactec54

I second dmm if your looking for easy setup and great performance!