585,919 active members*
3,488 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Choosing Hardware. Converting Denford Micromill to Mach3

Choosing Hardware. Converting Denford Micromill to Mach3

Hey everyone, brief introduction. My name is Doug, I'm currently a mechanical engineering student and my goal is to learn the ins and outs of multi-axis machining with the dendford in order to design and build a large scale router for making molds in the near future. I have a very basic understanding of electrical systems and circuit components as well as basic programming skills.

My CAD/CAM package is solidworks/camworks and I will be running the machine with Mach3. I'm currently trying to decide the best way to convert the micromill so that it will support this package. After a few days of google research it appears that some guys are able to replace one of the boards using a breakout board, a 96 pin connector and a few servo connectors and run the existing hardware this way. Others have or are saying to swap out most of the guts with a gecko g540 and with some tweaking run it that way.

What is the Best way to go about converting this mill? I'm taking on a steep learning curve in the shortest amount of time possible so please feel free to post any and all pieces of literature, schematics, and diagrams that you feel is relevant. All help is greatly appreciated.

Attached is a pic of the mill and steppers. Shortly I'll pull off the back panel and take a few pics of the hardware.

-Doug

Re: Choosing Hardware. Converting Denford Micromill to Mach3

We will wait for the pictures of the electronics however you are in luck. Those are square steppers, they are more powerful than their round predecessors.

The mill is a Sherline. All mechanical parts are available.