585,715 active members*
4,648 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNC recommended reading?

Im just starting out and have quite a few ideas for a CNC lathe. Can anyone recommend sites/books that an help me with my design?

You building a lathe of converting one?

E
    I wish it wouldn't crash.

building

have quite a few parts now. Extruded alum, motors, ball screws, etc. mostly collected from Ebay, and salvaged..

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=41648

I was looking at that lathe at Menards yesterday and I was thinking how easy that would be to convert to cnc metal lathe.

put some thk linear slides on the beds, fashion a x axis add steppers get a three jaw chuck.

seems like this would save ton's of time.

the one I looked at was also variable speed also.

Bob

I would be interested in the project. Pictures would be great if posible.

Eric
    I wish it wouldn't crash.

It looks like a good idea. I have a mini lathe that I'd like to convert over to CNC so that I could make pens in mass production. It would probably be easier and cheaper to convert a lathe over to CNC than to make or convert a milling machine. You're only looking at a 2 axis stystem vs. a 3 or more axis system. Are you thinking of putting the linear rails right on the machine or putting on a seperate base and mount the linear rails to that. The only thing is to make it sturdy. looks like a good project.

Originally posted by DDM
    It looks like a good idea. I have a mini lathe that I'd like to convert over to CNC so that I could make pens in mass production. It would probably be easier and cheaper to convert a lathe over to CNC than to make or convert a milling machine. You're only looking at a 2 axis stystem vs. a 3 or more axis system. Are you thinking of putting the linear rails right on the machine or putting on a seperate base and mount the linear rails to that. The only thing is to make it sturdy. looks like a good project.