585,973 active members*
4,213 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need endmill advice for x1

I have no experience with metal working, but intend to get my start with a x1 micromill from my local harbor freight. I need advice as far as what I will need as far as end mills. I will be mostly playing with aluminum, but will want to cut some brass.

Simpleton

I'd get a small selection. Stay with HSS to start with, much cheaper and less brittle than carbide. Get both 2 flute and four flute in, say, 1/16, 1/8, 1/4, 3/8 sizes. You might want a couple ball end mills also.

Karl

High speed steel is cheaper, but threw my blow moulding exp, you want to cut ally and brass with cbide for shore.Best to go for the high helix and make sure you have plenty of coolant. Kero makes for a good finnish and stops sticking.Also may be a half inch or 12mm tipped cutter.
    Do most rough stock work with a tipped cutter and you will save. $$$.
    Biggest problem i found is the tools getting blunt so have them coated a must and not much extra.

Down under.

Hi Jason,

Where are you sourcing your cutters from, in Australia or overseas?

I recently finished my X3 conversion, and looking for some tooling. I used HSS 3mm end mills on my X2 with a fair bit of success, but tossing up whether to go the carbide route, and wheer to get them from.

Pat

Hi Pat.

We mainly go through sandvick, But as they holed the market i try to lean towards the smaller guy. Kenna Metals or even some locals with anca tool and cutter grinders.

If your any good at grinding cbide stick thats a cheaper method, only they will not be coated.

Theres no way assie prices will come close to yank prices.
    We havent fully felt the brunt of india yet and china are struggiling to still get it right so the comp between cutter companys is not as strong as it could be.

Thanks for the info guys.