585,722 active members*
4,456 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

etching glass or mirrors

Does anyone have any experience with doing etching in glass and how to do it? diamond bit? speeds and feeds? Wife wants.......

I have no experience here BUT: Have you considered making a stencil over the glass and then blasting it with grit? Does she really need glass, could you use clear plastic?

Coat the glass with a layer of wax, lay your template over the surface and start punching thru the template with a sharp stylus, next use needle to remove the wax between the punch marks, coat the surface with sulferic acid, let sand and then wash off with lots of water.Tip, go to a Tandy's store and get some leather transfers and follow the directions. (this is what I do as I'am only able to draw flys). Best of luck! BIG AL

Thanks, I'll have to give that a try!

Geoff Williams, in his book CNC Robotics took the following approach:
    1. Plot the image on the surface with a permanent marker that resists etching paste, He found that the Pilot Metalic Marker (extra fine) would work.
    2. Then added a border around the plot with a wider version to prevent "spill over".
    3. Let the ink completely dry.
    4. Read the safety warnings on the paste.
    5. He applied the paste with a small piece of wood (bet the caustic stuff eats up the metal bits in brushes)
    6. He let it dry for 15 minutes (plus or minus based on brand of etching paste).
    7. Wash off the paste and then clean off the ink with lacquer thinner.

There's been a lot of plus/delta said 'bout his book. But this looks like it might work!

You might find all the bits to do the same thing at a crafts shop (Michaels or JoAnns - chain crafdt stores) or a stained glass shop.
    :cheers: Jim
    PS - if you want to buy the book - best bet I found was thru overstock.com

Originally posted by turkgeltz
    Thanks, I'll have to give that a try!
    Don't.