584,829 active members*
4,879 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Speed pick-up

I am a newbie setting up a used 2010 Patriot VFD. It has never been wired for Mach 3 to control spindle speed so I am in the process of doing that. the tach pick-up on the lathe shaft only provides 1 pulse per revolution. As I am in the midst of modifying the machine, it would be easy to change the method of speed pick-up so that it would get many more pulses per revolution. I have not really used the machine yet. Would there be any advantage to doing this?

Also, there is a spare contact on the relay that selects lathe or mill motor. Would it be advantages to put a speed pick-up on the mill and route it through the relay?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Re: Speed pick-up

My Patriot has sensors on the lathe and the mill. I would think yours does too if you can control the spindle speed through Mach3. I'm not sure what there would be to gain by adding additional sensors.

I think you could add more magnets to increase the number of pulses, but it would require a change in the Mach 3 setup as well. I don't see any real advantage to doing that, but some potential issues- you would need to have each pickup pretty precisely positioned at 180 degrees for 2 or 90 degrees for 4 to avoid errors.