584,829 active members*
4,868 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

CNC for 3D Sculpture

Hello. I'm a 3D artist (modeler/animator). I've been taken by the idea of turning my models (mostly fantastic creatures) into miniature figurine sculpures that I could then cast. I would also like to carve reliefs of my models as architectural accents, and as art pieces. I've been considering building a 3-Axis router for this purpose.

Unfortunately, my wife feels thinks it won't work, and that it will be just a waste of money.

Does anyone have any experience in this arena? Is there anyone who would be willing to try machining one of my models out of wax, plastic, resin or foam?

Here is the model I am working on as a test run.
    http://cleancg.com/forums/index.php?topic=93.0

Also, is there much demand in the CNC community for artistic 3d modelers or is it all industrial application?

A 3 axis router won't make complex figures like your (nice!) minotaur, and even a 4 axis will have trouble with the more slender parts.

You can do this easily with rapid prototyping methods such as 3D plastic printing or stereolithography. New machines are pretty expensive, but I've seen used ones on Ebay for several thousand.

I'd consider finding a rapid prototyping company to make you a model. I bet you could get a 6" minotaur for a couple hundred bucks.

There is a demand for artistic 3D. I've seen it used mostly in architecture, entertainment, and singage.

-Jeff

Look at this link, Whiteriver did this with only 4-axis. This guy is good!

http://www.cnczone.com/gallery/showp...00/ppuser/1498

Quote Originally Posted by InspirationTool View Post
    I'd consider finding a rapid prototyping company to make you a model. I bet you could get a 6" minotaur for a couple hundred bucks.Jeff