584,858 active members*
4,307 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > OneCNC > Just starting out

Just starting out

Hi guys,
    Im just starting out and trying to get to the crux of everything CAD/CAM. I am a freelence model maker/mould maker and recently started freelancing for a film/TV armourers company. The guy that owns it, bought a 2-axis Haas lathe and a 3-axis Haas mill about a year ago, and nobody has been trained in them up until now. After a chat about the dormant machines, he gestured some sales stuff on Onecnc and asked what I thought. Well, I thought 'bloody brilliant', going through the website, it looks like it could be something I could get to grips with fairly quickly. Now, looks and actual practices are two very differnt sides of the coin, so...... How 'easy' is it for someone with no exp of 3d modeling or CNC to get creative in a decent amount of time? Dumb question, I know! I will say however that in the last week, I have put about 10hours into the Hass operators and programing (G-code) manual and dont seem to have to many problems so far. Also I could mention that I taught myself Photoshop and illustrator (to name but a few), so I can pick up programs fairly quickly. Cant get my hands on a trial ver for OneCNC to try out at the moment as I am in the UK and they wont give one out (something to do with a German crack). I will have to wait a few weeks until I can organise a presentation before I can see it first hand. After going through various forums, its hard to find out what the true deal is but I am getting to grips with it all . Thanks in advance for any help!

You should be able to download the US demo version from http://www.onecnc.net/today/download.htm