585,763 active members*
4,408 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question 3020 spindle quit working.

Recently aquired a second hand 3020 mini cnc router that has no manual, and I had it running quite well until the spindle quit working. I think that I did something to the speed controller. I was doing some tests and I didn't shut down the speed control before I started it again, and it stopped working. Can someone give me some help with how to fix it?

Re: 3020 spindle quit working.

I am quite new to cnc and could really use some help. I have done several searches for answers, but none of the other threads have posted answers that fit my problem.
    Does anyone have any ideas? Am I in the wrong forum, and if so can anyone direct me to the right one?
    I got the spindle to run, and I am not sure why it ran, then it stopped again. It has been coming on and off for no apparent reason, perhaps a loose connection? The fuses are all good and I have continuity in the circuit, but it only runs sometimes?

~Grey~

Without knowing exactly what machine you have, nor with any photos to go off, how can anyone possibly help?

Thank you for your reply RussellK,

I don't know the make of this machine, it was purchased on Ebay, and the fellow that I got it from no longer has any documentation on it, and there is no identification on the machine whatsoever. Below are two photos, and as you can see, I have just swapped out the spindle for a Dremel type tool, it does work, however I would still like to get the original spindle to work.

It seems to have something to do with the potentiometer, however I can't be sure.
    Any assistance would be appreciated.

Attachment 264350
    Attachment 264352

Thank you,
    ~Grey~