584,863 active members*
4,709 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Better, cheaper than GECKO drive?

Smile Better, cheaper than GECKO drive?

Hi guys,
    I am new with the microstepper drive and want to get one for testing mini cnc machine.
    I have searched thru the web and found this
    3 AXIS CNC STEPPER MOTOR DRIVE
    * Two phases bipolar (PWM Technology)
    * Resolution: Full step, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, selectable via dip switch for each axis you can obtain resolution until of 1600 steps per 360º revolution with a conventional motor of 200 steps, imagines the fine movement that you will have.
    * 50 watts outpower per axis

Sold for $100.

I am hesitating as weather I should try it out since it is 3 axis drive or should I go with reputation name like GECKO.......
    Any advice anyone?
    Thanks
    Jeff

You get what you pay for!
    50 watts may sound like a lot but it could easily be pure hype - 50 volt max @ 1 amp = 50 watts.

Aaron

Quote Originally Posted by cjchands View Post
    Hi guys,
    I am new with the microstepper drive and want to get one for testing mini cnc machine.
    I have searched thru the web and found this
    3 AXIS CNC STEPPER MOTOR DRIVE
    * Two phases bipolar (PWM Technology)
    * Resolution: Full step, 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, selectable via dip switch for each axis you can obtain resolution until of 1600 steps per 360º revolution with a conventional motor of 200 steps, imagines the fine movement that you will have.
    * 50 watts outpower per axis

Sold for $100.

I am hesitating as weather I should try it out since it is 3 axis drive or should I go with reputation name like GECKO.......
    Any advice anyone?
    Thanks
    Jeff
    got a link then you can get a good opinion.

I see this guy posted on e-bay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

Any comment, Joe?