585,973 active members*
4,066 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Laser / Moshicrap / Out my depth here

Hi people. Newbie here, green around the gills.

I've bought a second hand cheap laser (35/40w...not sure which) with MoshiDraw V9.90.
    I'm used to using Inkscape and outputting to an Epilog from PDF and adjusting the speed/depth manually.
    Anyhow these are my issues please help:
    1) Any JPEG image cuts with jagged edges (you can see its not smooth on Moshi buts its drawn smooth in Inkscape). I usually draw in inkscape and then save as PNG and then convert to JPEG (in photoshop as its all i have). Any advice with this first?
    2) Sometimes the laser just starts drawing lines half way through a curved shape
    3) sometimes the laser kind of loses power and gives up. The amp meter thingy (yes i'm THAT clueless) also shows low power/losing power when i press the 'test switch')
    4) sometimes the stepper motor goes mental and just tries to go everywhere....and beyond its possible track.
    5) can't seem to get settings right to go through 2mm mdf or corrugated card - on the card it just burns before going through; mdf just doesn't go through (can 35w cut this??)
    6) burns edges on most things
    7) does other weird things i can't remember

Not sure what to do. Don't have knowledge to change PCB. Not sure if its a software issue.....just no idea.
    Please help. Big virtual hugs for anyone who can help.

On a serious note i would consider paying someone to fix this damn thing / upgrade it to work simply from Inkscape.....within reason.

Calida
    Hope to hear from you soon

Re: Laser / Moshicrap / Out my depth here

Hello fellow UK'er