585,938 active members*
3,188 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Computer Technology > USB, RS232, PARALLEL etc > arduino parallel port hack for Chinese 3040

arduino parallel port hack for Chinese 3040

Hi,

I'm a newb with a 3040 router. I was hoping to drive it over USB with this hack, but it doesn't work for me.

Adventures in DIY Engineering: Chinese CNC 3040T Router/Mill through USB Easily

I tried tying pin 10 (the e-stop pin in the Mach 3 set up instructions) high but still no good. Has anybody got something like this to work or should I give up and get a USB controller? Any advice would be appreciated

Re: arduino parallel port hack for Chinese 3040

what's wrong with parallel port? is it not able to output steps fast enough or you just want a smaller connector size?

Hi alan, I don't have one on my PC. From what I've gathered I'd need to install Win XP to run Mach3 properly. I've read some people dedicate an old PC as a controller and that's an option if I can't get the arduino / Grbl working. But I'd rather get it working via USB on my current PC

you can get a pci parallel port card if you don't have one.
    I haven't tried mach3 in a long time, but I think as long as you have a 32bit OS it will work. dual boot is an option if you want to do that.

I have heard of grbl before many times, maybe it is time for me to learn about it.
    It seems like usb connection for cnc stuff is the top of a lot of peoples list since the usb 3d printer stuff started not too long ago.

RunForrestRun,

Please post a image of the stepper driver / breakout board so we can determine exactly what you have.

There are hundreds of 3040 providers and the hardware / electronics are not all the same.

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Bingo! On the 3d printing - I got a Printrbot Simple a year ago. It's cool but I wanted to try some woodwork.