585,737 active members*
4,904 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DC860A Dip switch settings

Sorry the title should say DQ860A

Let me start by saying I am new to this DIY cnc, I have run and programmed cnc's for the last 20 years so I am not totally green on the subject but I am little lost when I comes to the electronics.

I purchased this kit from Ebay, US Free Wantai 4 Axis Nema34 Stepper Motor 99mm 5 6A 1090oz 4LEADS Driver 7 8A | eBay , I have single start 5mm pitch screws and I would like to reach 150-200 IPM rapid speeds. I have contacted the seller and got some support but notenough to get the answers I am looking for. I am a little confused on what SW-1– SW-3 should be set at, I think the 5.7 peak 4.00 RMS is what I want but like I said im not sure. As faras the pulse settings are concerned, well I think I know but not 100% sure. Thesteppers are 200 microstep motors, does that mean I want to use the settingsfor the 200 pulses?Like I said I am newto this and really could use some help. I am almost to the point I can hook themotors to the machine and play a little but I want to make sure everything isset correctly first, I am using Mach3 if that makes a difference.

Thanks
    Carlton

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20150207_190844.jpg   20150207_182303.jpg  

Re: DC860A Dip switch settings

Carlton,

Using the peak setting is fine.

10 microstepping (2000) would provide very smooth motion and ultra high resolution.

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Thanks Jeff, so what I have for the peak setting (5.7 amps) is good or should I use the 7.80 Peak and 5.60 RMS. I don't see a 10 or a 2000 microstepping option on the driver, that is why I am confused.

Quote Originally Posted by jalessi View Post
    Carlton,

Using the peak setting is fine.

10 microstepping (2000) would provide very smooth motion and ultra high resolution.

Jeff...

Carlton,