585,727 active members*
4,098 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Duality Lathe with 4th Axis vs 4th rotary table

Duality Lathe with 4th Axis vs 4th rotary table

could anyone tell me the advantages / disadvantages between the two? I have no 4 axis experience at all so I'm having a hard time seeing the difference between the two other than the fact that one Is a lathe, which seems like that would be a plus

Re: Duality Lathe with 4th Axis vs 4th rotary table

Boy, I can think of a ton!

1. The 4th axis rotary table (RT) will be far more rigid than the lathe with the 4th axis attachment.
    2. The RT will allow you for higher diameter parts. The lathe swing over bed is something like 7 inches, so this will be your limit.
    3. The RT will allow for longer parts. The lathe has a tailstock and there is so much you can push it out without using some sort of extender. The RT's tailstock is separate.
    4. The RT allows for a trunion. That's going to be tough, not to mention limited, with the lathe.
    5. With the RT you can place all sorts of chucks, 5C collets and pretty much anything you can bolt to the rotary table. The lathe will be limited on what you can attach, plus the chuck repertoire is rather small.
    6. The RT can be used both as an A axis as well as a C axis. The lathe can only be used as an A axis. The A axis is when the axis is parallel to X and perpendicular to Y and Z, or the RT's vertical position. The C axis is when the RT's axis is parallel to the Z axis and perpendicular to both the X and Y axis, or the horizontal position (flat on the mill table).
    7. I don't think the lathe will be able to withstand the same cutting forces the RT table can.
    8. You can't use coolant with the lathe, but can with the RT.