584,829 active members*
4,774 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Windows application - from .DXF file to the CNC machine's end product - how?

Hybrid View

Windows application - from .DXF file to the CNC machine's end product - how?

Hi all,

I am totally new in the world of CNC machines, as well in this forum.
    Also, not sure this is a right place to ask my question, but do not know where to start exactly.
    Here is what I need, all suggestions are welcome:

I need to make a Windows application, which is able:

- to take arbitrary 2D .DXF file (let user to choose the file he wants)
    - display content of the of chosen file in the user interface
    - for the chosen file, generate appropriate CNC machine G-Code
    - somehow tell CNC machine to run generated G-Code in order to make the final product
    ===

The machine are controlled by the Leomatic PNC system:
    Leomatic s.r.l. Industrial Automation - via Reggio Emilia, 6 - 40139 Bologna - ITALY

which uses RS232 to communicate with computer, and this is actually the textile cutting machine
    ===
    Need help about every topic above (well, except the first one):
    A) So: what programming language is best to use (or it has no significance?)

B)What to use to display .dxf image to the UI?

C)Regarding topic 3, I know there is tools (converters) which are able to take some .dxf file and generate the G-Code for the machine, so wondering, can I use some of them to do the .DXF-TO-G-CODE conversion? If so, which and how to use? If not, then I suppose I need to write my own converter, so where to start?

D) Finally, when I somehow have the G-Code, how to tell CNC machine to execute generated code, how to start and stop that process? The PNC system uses RS232, what application exactly should to do?
    ===

Finally, is there some open-source software for that purpose (just for learning purposes), and commercial one?

Thanks in advance