586,024 active members*
4,064 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Laguna Swift 60x120

I am a recent college graduate starting a decorative concrete business. I plan to use a CNC router to machine 3D carvings for concrete molds for fence panels, etc. I don't need a vacuum table or ATC. Laguna has given me the option of an HSD 3hp spindle to replace the standard Hiwin liquid cooled.

I keep going back and forth with my confidence in a Laguna Swift.

Does anybody have a Swift in operation? If so, what is your opinion of the machine or Laguna as a whole?

I have also been considering a Techno HD series (also 60x120). The option of increased Z height is very appealing.

I have read the threads pertaining to Laguna, but it seems those all revolve around "their" old design.

Laguna Swift shipped is $18.5k. Techno HD with standard Z (7.25") is around $27k shipped.

Thank you for your time and opinion/experiences.

Re: Laguna Swift 60x120

I thought Laguna's issue was as much their proprietary control then anything. Have they changed that? Otherwise I have no direct experience.
    In case anyone is wondering, I'm the twin of the other gfacer on cnczone...

Re: Laguna Swift 60x120

Wishing yo great success with your new venture. Glad to see more entrepreneurs going into the concrete field.

I have used an older Techno Isel Gantry III model 130 with a raised gantry (40" x 50" x 10" work envelope) for intricate decorative concrete molds machined out of HDU. They are a type of face mold insert for precast panels, more 2D than 3D in shape.
    Although my work is not high quantity production, I have been very happy with the Techno Isel that I have and it is a much lighter machine than what you are considering. Although it is a short bed machine, I make longer molds, when needed, by using a tiling strategy for cutting.