585,555 active members*
3,398 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Path Pilot - Rasberry Pi 2 b

Has anyone tried to run the new Path Pilot on a Rasberry Pi 2.0b? With a quad core processor and enough ram you should be able to correct?

Re: Path Pilot - Rasberry Pi 2 b

I have a Raspberry Pi 2 b and would love to test this out but have no Path Pilot license and don't own a Tormach. An

would it run linuxCNC 2.7
    http://danielscnc.webs.com/

being disabled is not a hindrance it gives you attitude
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

I don't believe there is a PCI-e interface for the FPGA card and the PathPilot distro seems to be tightly coupled with the card.

I have never worked with Raspberry Pi before, but I pulled the specs from: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B | Raspberry Pi

I may be brain-farting here, but I am under the impression that just because you have a Linux distribution, doesn't mean you can install it in whichever processor you want. Path Pilot is based on Linux which was compiled to operate on an Intel CPU. As a result, the machine language will ONLY work with an Intel CPU.

Raspberry Pi's, on the other hand, are ARM cores and rest assured the instruction set is 100% different.

Now, with that being said. If you take the source code for Linux 2.7, and you do your Linux magic (for which there are not too many wizards on this planet and this is not to be thought of as a simple task), then you should be able to compile Linux CNC 2.7 for the Raspberri Pi. Sounds like an awesome project to me! Hardware could be devised to transform a Raspberri Pi into the ultimate CNC controller! Heck, all the required processing power is already there...
    I document my CNC Experience at CNC Dude's Youtube channel. Check it out!

Quote Originally Posted by CNC-Dude View Post