585,591 active members*
2,642 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

2019 CNC mill build log

Hi I am a new member and I am currently building a new 2019 mill.

I have had a CNC router for a few years and I decided to find a nice little mill to make my RC heli & quad parts mainly in aluminium. I am an engineer by trade and use Solidworks and Featurecam daily.

See the pics below for the rough SolidWorks layout of what I am planning on building.

I have designed the enclosure with bracing the Z column in mind and to house the large electrical cabinet and my silent compressor below.

I plan to use the following for the build most of which I have already.

Gecko G540 for the drivers ( Reuse from old router )
    CSMIO/IP-M 4-axis Ethernet Motion Controller & mpeg module ( Still to buy )
    MEAN WELL SP-320-48 PSU for the motors ( Bought)
    Stepper Motors, 4 Wires, 1.26nm, 2.5 V, Inductance/Phase (mH) 2.5 ( Still to buy )
    Schneider Zelio PLC or 2 with HMI screen/s because I have them ( to show rpm, Limit switches, and control axis and steps for the mpeg )
    Inductive RPM pickup ( have lots of sensors so will pick one )
    Inductive limit switches ( have lots of nice flat sensors )
    Mister ( still researching )
    Oldham Couplings ( bought thanks to Lester at MEDW top bloke! )
    24v LED strip lights around the front angled in at 45 degrees ( got a few laying around )
    MGF sil-eol 24/50 gf silent compressor ( had it a few years unused till now )

Well thats most of the plans outlined.

Hi I have started the enclosure build the pics are below.

At this point I would like to thank my friend Scott for helping me get the enclosure parts and the laser cutting etc. Top man

So to start it all off I have started my enclosure.

The enclosure was all drawn in SolidWorks so I could check dimensions, plan and produce an accurate bill of materials.