585,753 active members*
4,489 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Novakon > Ethernet Smooth Stepper Too Sensitive? Throwing Stop errors?
Page 1 of 2 12

Ethernet Smooth Stepper Too Sensitive? Throwing Stop errors?

Anyone have issues w/ ESS being too sensitive? I get weird E-Stop errors at different times - but what is consistent is if I manually click to start "Flood" coolant while a program is running it ALWAYS throws a E-Stop error.
    Shouldn't I be able to do this without the machine freaking out?

BTW - its a Pulsar Stepper that I'm using.

Thanks!
    B

Re: Ethernet Smooth Stepper Too Sensitive? Throwing Stop errors?

I'm no expert but that sounds like electromagnetic interference. The relay controlling the coolant pump might be a place to look for some shielding.

I have never had mine throw and Estop that was not intended and preformed manually. In fact no switch errors of any kind.
    I did have a coolant pump go out, but John sent me a new one. I do start and stop both the spindle and the coolant at times without running Gcode, so I know mine does not fault like that.
    Do you have any other electronics or machinery in close proximity?

I think maybe the only real difference between mine and yours is the position I installed the servo drive in.
    Mine was not installed when I received it, so I had to install it later. These are older pictures. I do have the newer Arduino BOB installed in mine and the never reference above was after it was installed. I had a few issues with the original BOB.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails upper control.jpg   lower control.jpg  
    Lee

Lee - I can start and stop the spindle and coolant manually no problem as long as G code isn't running (i.e. manual mode)