585,981 active members*
4,288 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > PCB milling > PCB milling maching axis set up problems

Smile PCB milling maching axis set up problems

Hi,

I have just joined the forum, thank you.
    I work in the field of radiotherapy, the repair and maintenance of linear accelerators.

I have recently completed building a 3 axis mill which i intend to use to make pcb's.
    I am using Eagle PCB to do the plots, then pcb-Gode to generate the Gcode.
    To drive the mill I am using LinexEMC
    I have tried to set it up and so far I can communicate with the mill and drive all the axis's- all good there

I have a problem however in running the programme with the gcode loaded.
    I am sure its a problem with my initial setup...just cant work it out.
    Using the "touch off" command for x&y I have placed the job within the red perimeter of the work screen....Is that the correct method?
    I can jog the steppers X,Y &Z with the keyboard

When I run the programme the error messages below are generated. I have tried to sort it out but I very confused and lost in it all. I have disabled the home switches for the moment and set up the mill so that I can do no damage.

"Program exceeds machine minimum on axis z" & "Program exceeds machine maximum on axis z"

If I choose to ignore the error and run it just sits there - no movement
    I did at one stage get the x & Y steppers to run then it stopped at line 30: G00 Z0.5000

Thank you for any assistance

regards,
    Paul

Re: PCB milling maching axis set up problems

Check the settings in Eagle/pcb-Code to see where the Z height of the board is set. You may be able to change it to match your mill.
    In LinuxCNC, you can set the Z-axis travel to one of the following using the Step Config wizard:
    0 to (mill's max Z travel)
    (mill's max Z travel) to 0