585,719 active members*
4,313 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 4 123

Purchase Mach 3 or 4?

I am in the process of converting my G0704 to CNC, and in the market for control software. Would you purchase Mach 3 or 4? I am new to control software, so wondering if it makes more sense to buy/learn the newest version. Thanks.

Re: Purchase Mach 3 or 4?

Honestly, at this time, it's tough to recommend either one if you've never used any control software.

Mach3 has thousands of users (myself included), but has many bugs that will never be fixed. Most people never encounter these bugs, or work around them.

If you buy Mach3, and want to upgrade to Mach4 at some point, you'll still pay full price for Mach4. There is a current discounted package price if you buy both, though.

Mach4, is unfinished, beta software that may not be finished for another year or more? It currently has a very steep learning curve. It shows a lot of promise, but is taking way too long.

There are a few other controls that are supposed to work "Better" than Mach3, like Planet CNC and Eding CNC. Not nearly as many users, but I've heard good things from those that use them.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by Ron2d View Post
    I am in the process of converting my G0704 to CNC, and in the market for control software. Would you purchase Mach 3 or 4? I am new to control software, so wondering if it makes more sense to buy/learn the newest version. Thanks.
    They did have a special with 3 and 4 for $300. Basically buy one get one half off. You can run both on the same machine. I don't know if the special is still going on.
    Don