585,665 active members*
3,119 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

New Slant Pro, spindle won't run.

Well I hate to do this but as my first post here I am issuing a cry for help. I am new to the CNC world but have been studying, watching, and learning for several years now. I finally had the opportunity to purchase a brand new Slant Pro Lathe. Shipping and initial setup seemed to go pretty well. I have movement in both axis. I can not get any movement out of the spindle though. In fact, the C2 contactor is not closing when I put in an RPM amount in PathPilot and click the FWD button. Since the contactor is not closing, the VFD is not powering up at all. I have checked everything I can to try and find why this is happening. I have checked all the fuses I can find, and as many wire connections as I can find. I just can't find what is going wrong. I emailed Tormach and the individual that responded told me to study the electrical schematic and trace all the wiring in the control panel and figure out what voltages are going to what circuits. Well I have to be honest, I am checking everything I know how to check but I am certainly not an expert in electronics. Has anyone else had a problem like mine? Would anybody have any ideas as to what is going on. It is really not a good feeling to buy a brand new machine and then have to sit and stare at it while it stares back at me doing absolutely nothing lol.

Thanks in advance to anyone who might be able to help.

Re: New Slant Pro, spindle won't run.

Is there an E-Stop switch somewhere that needs to be reset?

Hopefully it's something simple. I can't believe they would tell you to trace it all out yourself. What would they say if you electrocuted yourself?

Let's go for the low hanging fruit. Designed safety interlocks can sometimes makes things... too safe...