584,814 active members*
5,279 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > MadCAM > madCAM GCode and Tormach PCNC1100 PathPilot not working "out of the box"

Question madCAM GCode and Tormach PCNC1100 PathPilot not working "out of the box"

With help, I'm comfortable with the toolpaths being generated. However, the G Code that is coming out isn't "machine ready"even though I'm targeting the Tormach PCNC1100 Mach3. I actually have PathPilot which is supposed to use the same G Code commands as Mach3.

I admit I'm new to this and I very easily could be doing something wrong, but if I am please explain it to me. I'll be glad to learn.

Here are the issues I'm seeing and wondering if the post processor isn't really 100% working for the Mach 3 TorMach PCNC1100 "out of the box" so to speak:

First 6 Lines of generated code (untouched by me):
    G00 G49 G40.1 G17 G80 G50 G90 G64
    G20
    (T10_Roughing_FLAT_END_0,25_C30826_30IPM_0.2Depth)
    M6 T10
    M03 S4300
    G01Z3.000

Line 1: G40.1 is not recognized by PathPilot or GWizardE. What is this supposed to be doing? I don't think it should be in there unless it can be explained. I couldn't find any info on it when I searched for it, just other people getting errors on G40.1.
    Line 1: G50 should be on it's own separate line according to PathPilot.
    Line 6: G01 on this line generates an error in GWizardE saying that the feedrate is not set. If you put G00, the error goes away. When I read up on G00 and G01 I think GWizardE is correct for saying this. A few lines further down and the next G01 in the Z axis has a feedrate specified.

I had to make the two changes to Line 1 just to be able to run the code on PathPilot. I had already made the change to Line 6 before that point, so I didn't actually test if PathPilot had a problem with Line 6 as it was written.