584,861 active members*
5,013 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Talking DIY CNC for molds?

Hey guys! I am new to this whole CNC router table thing. My friend and I are trying to start a business and are looking into the DIY CNC. Our question was about toys. Most toys seem to be made by hand or in a cad program and brought into a CNC machine and a mold is milled into a chunk of steel or aluminum. Then those metal molds are used with injection molding with melted plastic. I was wondering, would it be possible to use these DIY CNC machines to instead of making the mold in metal, make it in a chunk of wood or plastic since every one of these DIY CNC machines cannot mill chunks of metal? If we were to make it in a chunk of wood, the wood would have to definitely be sealed and a release agent applied and then take the parts of the wood or plastic mold, bolt them together, pour in the resin or molten plastic, and use a rotocaster to create hollow toy parts. Is this possible? I know pretty much all of these DIY CNC machines, dont machine chunks of aluminum or steel. Man, how I wish the DIY machine did. Would make my life a ton more simple! Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

-Shane

Quote Originally Posted by MasterSword64 View Post