585,670 active members*
4,590 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > Engine design in Solidworks
Page 1 of 2 12

Engine design in Solidworks

I started learning SW some months ago and have got quite comfortable with it (love the parametric aspect) and thought I'd start drawing a cylinder head (DOHC 4 valve). All was going well until I got to the intake and exhaust ports. I've just spent 3 straight days of agony trying to do one intake port but can't manage it. I previously drew this engine up in Rhino 5.0 (I was really proud of how the port surfaces turned out in Rhino) but rather than try to import it, I just started again from scratch. My method was to sketch the cross section of all required items (ports, spark plug, cams, buckets, etc..) on a plane that runs across the middle of cyl 1. There are 2 (intake) valves that are either side of cyl 1 plane and their respective runners join together into one opening on the port face (side of head) so I made a plane on the required angle. Here’s where things went wrong in several areas and I’ve spent plenty of time on Google and YouTube prior to asking for help here.

(1) Getting the cross sectional sketch of the port from cyl1 plane to cyl1 angled plane, as it seems in SW you can’t project a sketch to an angled plane like you can in Rhino. (you can but it doesn’t produce the required results. See Temp3.SLDPRT) I tried drawing the sketch in 3D sketch but it was nowhere near what I wanted and even worse was trying to draw the circles (for loft/boundary) when the guide line isn't in the usual XYZ planes.