585,604 active members*
3,421 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Hobby Projects > Hobby Discussion > Archery Build....this should be interesting....

Archery Build....this should be interesting....

Hi Everyone!

I'm new here, and have spent a day or so scouring the forums looking for some rather specific information....and didn't find it. So, I'll toss out my questions and hope that someone has some good input for me.

I'm a disabled retiree who has always been a big archery fan. A few years ago I started playing with making my own bows, but always liked the feel of a compound bow vs. a long or recurve bow. Well, I've decided I'm going to make a compound bow from scratch after watching a couple of knuckleheads on Youtube.com make theirs out of PVC pipe and pulleys. I'm not going to redneck the project that much, but had originally considered modifying their approaches. Since I used to work in machine maintenance (mostly in plastic factories), I'm somewhat familiar with plastics and machining.