585,597 active members*
3,234 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Advice on Small CNC Mill - From Scratch or Pre-Built?

Question Advice on Small CNC Mill - From Scratch or Pre-Built?

Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm a newbie when it comes to CNC milling . I'm an electronic engineer and would like to build/buy a small CNC mill to be used for

- Panel designing (arbitrary holes/openings on sheet metal & label engravings).
    - Milling of small parts for use in my own projects.
    - Cutting tool travel: x = 150-300mm, y = 80-100mm, z = 50-80 mm. Longer/shorter travels may also be OK.

The material would be almost exclusively aluminium sheets/blocks, and a bit of copper & plastics. I'm very experienced in electronics, so I can easily handle the stepper motor control and s/w interfacing part. What I cannot do/choose easily is the mechanical part. Should I buy a ready-made mill and convert to CNC myself (by attaching 3 steppers to the x, y, z knobs), or should I buy separate parts like CNC rails/bearings/slides & drill and combine them together to build my own CNC mill from scratch? Another option is to buy an already-converted mill like the ones from Proxxon, Sherline and Taig.

My priorities are (highest first)

1. Machine precision, robustness & repeatability.
    2. Compatibility of controller with easily available & good quality s/w (Mach3 or others).
    3. Relatively low cost (say, up to $2,000 - I'm only a hobbyist, not making money out of this).

The easiest solution would be to get a ready-made CNC mill retrofit, like one from the following.

- Proxxon MF70 (http://www.usovo.de/).
    - Sherline (http://www.sherline.com/).
    - Taig (http://www.taigtools.com/).