584,849 active members*
4,466 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Wanting to machine a watch case

Wanting to machine a watch case

I am new to cnc and was looking to be pointed in the right direction.

I am looking to machine a watch case out of stainless steel. What type of machines would give me the most freedom in machining the case (as far as if I want nontraditional designs)? What brands are good and what price range to purchase one of these?

Do the machines come with their own software or is that something to purchase separately?

I appreciate any help provided, thanks.

Re: Wanting to machine a watch case

Case would need to be drawn in Cad software such as Inventor, Solidworks or Fusion360 or something similar. Then the tool paths need to be created either by long hand G-code, but much easier with Cam software. Some Cam programs are included with Cad such as Fusion 360 or HSMXpress is free but free version is limited to 2 axis. My guess a watch case probably has some 3 axis features. Therefore Fusion360 is the best bank for the buck, but there are others. As far as machine. Cost determines capability and quality of machine, and also quality of finished product. My guess for decent quality your are looking at least $10,000 for machine and another $1500 or more in tooling and work holding to get started. You could look at Tormach or Novakon for machines. I think some people have even used the little Sherline for jewelry type work. Sky the limit. Maybe look for a second hand machine to get started.

in Switzerland many company still work with conventional watchmaker machines..
    they are turning the case, then with circular sawblades cuts out the unnecessary parts of the workpiece..

I know it sounds unbelievable, but they also mastered to work with files.. some watch you couldn't tell made by file and not with milling machine..