585,925 active members*
3,425 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > G0704 CNC Conversion - Linear Rails, Servos, Ballscrews
Page 1 of 4 123

G0704 CNC Conversion - Linear Rails, Servos, Ballscrews

Hello everyone and welcome to yet another G0704 CNC Conversion thread. Brace yourselves for a wall of text, I've been prepping for this for 3 years now...

This has been a long time coming, I first purchased a G0704 back in 2012 and had to get rid of it in 2013 due to some financial issues - little tip: don't try to build a CNC mill living in a college dorm room. Anyways I got another one a few months ago and now I am living in a nice roomy house with plenty of space for a CNC mill, and a higher paying job so fingers crossed! Although I am still attending college.. Also I'd like to mention I am keeping all of this logged on my website with more pictures and videos, so if it seems like I haven't updated this post I might have updated the site - G0704 CNC Conversion | Learn CNC . Shameless promotion for my site, I'm working on making a bunch of informational videos on building a CNC mill.

To start off I'd like to throw some acknowledgements: first is hossmachine and the insane amount of information he provides both on the forums and his DVD which I purchased way back in 2012. Second is Ryan's G0704 build thread - I learned a lot reading his thread and he really showed what is possible with these machines, just a lot of great info in that thread. Third is the recent thread about a G0704 Linear Rail Conversion which BTP converted the Z axis to linear rails - more on that in a minute. Finally a shoutout to everyone on this forum posting build threads and comments, there's enough info on this site to last a lifetime. Alright now for the exciting stuff.