585,585 active members*
3,603 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Need parameters for Mitsubishi LC10B4

Hi Everyone, I am very new to all of this and wanted to say thanks in advance for putting up with my naivete.

Anyway, I was recently hired as Head Systems Administrator at a large Metal Fabrication outfit in Central Texas and one of my duties is to maintain the PCs that run the control software for many of our machines.

Right now, we have a Mitsubishi C02 Laser Working Machine Controller LC10B4 that is controlling our Mitsubishi 2512HD Laser Cutting Machine, and it is all being controlled by a human operator using floppy disks that he has to copy back and forth from the PC to the Controller, etc.

We are trying to get to the point where he can use CIMCOM 4.0 on a Windows 2000 PC (connected to the controller via RS232 cable purchased from WNCsupply.com) to improve efficiency and are almost there, however, I cannot for the life of me seem to get the PC to talk to the controller.

I have looked through the entire manual for the Mits and have found the COMM settings, but after trying numerous combinations between Stop Bits, Parity, Data bits, etc, I can't get it to respond. I can email you a scanned copy of the COMM settings if that would help you get on the same page.

I found these forums via Google and am hoping someone on here can help me figure this out as I've never really messed around with anything like this and could use some good solid advice.

Thanks in advance, and if you need any add'l information from me, please don't hesitate to ask.

I have installed Mistsubishi systems and have had no real problem with the RS232, I am not familiar with those control numbers, One common mistake is to omit to assign the correct port, there is usually a minimum of 2 ports to connect to.
    I would also use a three wire cable that jumpers the hardware handshake out either end.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design